Languages

Mobile Navigation

Main Navigation EN

Visual

  • 5. Internationales Physical Theatre Festival Essen

Deep Dish

Liquid Loft | Chris Haring (AT)

© Bernhard Müller

05. July, 20:00 Uhr

Maschinenhaus Essen

Playing Time 

70 min

Price of admission 

15,– € / 8,– € (discounted)

A dinner turns into an adventurous journey through the dimensions of macro- and microcosm. Via a handheld camera, the performers guide you through bizarre parallel worlds made of organic objects. By using film methods and acoustic distortions, image metaphors arise, reminiscent of baroque feasts, gardens of desire and their inevitable demise. A society driven by longing and curiosity, lightheaded and dull at the same time, celebrates its own caducity. The different dimensions of reality reflect as mirrors of a covered-up reality in a larger-than-life projection. In this still life, the protagonists’ every movement, every finical behaviour will inexorably be devoured by nature’s force.

Inspired by the novel Locus Solus in which universal scholar Maître Chanterel leads his selected guests through landscapes of different perceptions, Deep Dish acts as a reference to the beauty and decadence of a human existence perishing on itself.

In the Perfect Garden series by Liquid Loft in collaboration with visual artist Michel Blazy, the garden is a motif for the human pursuit of control of things within the unrelenting flow of caducity, but also a symbol for growth and usuriousness, which brings new things to fruition, over and over again.

“All in all, ‘Deep Dish’ certainly ranks among Austria’s best dance performances this year.” (Der Standard)

“In the series’ new instalment ‘The Perfect Garden’, Chris Haring invites six dancers for an exuberant dinner. Michael Blazy laid the table, not only are fruit and vegetables neatly arranged, fleas and sea anemones scrimmage about in the water glass. ‘Deep Dish’ is a baroque installation -  admonishing us about the caducity of existence in opulent beauty.”’ (tanz.at)


Dance, choreography: Luke Baio, Stephanie Cumming, Katharina Meves, Anna Maria Nowak
Artistic direction & choreography: Chris Haring
Composition & sound design: Andreas Berger
Dramaturgy, scenography & lighting design: Thomas Jelinek 

Organic sculptures & artistic counselling: Michel Blazy
Stage management: Roman Harrer
International representation: Line Rousseau, Marion Gauvent, A. Propic
Production management: Marlies Pucher

A coproduction by Tanzquartier Wien and Liquid Loft in cooperation with Korzo Den Haag and Le Centquatre Paris. Liquid Loft receives support from the Cultural Department of the City of Vienna MA7 / Kultur and the Federal Office of the Chancellor of Austria Kunst, Kultur.

Meta Navigation EN

Sprachen

Mobile Navigation

Main Navigation DE

Visual

  • 4th International Physical Theatre Festival Essen 5 - 9 July 2017

Deep Dish

Liquid Loft | Chris Haring (AT)

© Bernhard Müller

05.Juli, 20 Uhr

Maschinenhaus Essen

Spieldauer 

70 Minuten

Eintrittspreis 

15,– € / 8,– € (erm.)

Ein Abendmahl wird zu einer abenteuerlichen Reise durch die Dimensionen von Makro- und Mikrokosmos. Mittels Handkamera führen die Performer durch bizarre Parallelwelten aus organischen Objekten. 
Durch den Einsatz filmischer Methoden und akustischen Verfremdungen entstehen Bild-Metaphern, die an barocke Gelage, Gärten der Lüste und an deren unvermeidbaren Zusammenbruch erinnern. Eine von Sehnsucht und Neugierde getriebene Gesellschaft, ausgelassen und abgestumpft zugleich, feiert ihre eigene Vergänglichkeit. Die verschiedenen Dimensionen der Wirklichkeit spiegeln sich als Überformungen der Realität in einer übergroßen Projektion wieder. In diesem Stillleben wird jede Bewegung, jedes affektierte Verhalten der Protagonisten, unaufhaltsam von der Gewalt der Natur absorbiert.
 
Inspiriert vom Roman Locus Solus, in dem der Universalgelehrte Maître Chanterel seine ausgewählten Gäste durch Landschaften unterschiedlicher Wahrnehmung führt, ist Deep Dish eine Referenz an die Schönheit und Dekadenz einer menschlichen Existenz, die an sich selbst zugrunde geht.

In der Perfect Garden-Serie von Liquid Loft mit dem bildenden Künstler Michel Blazy ist das Motiv des Gartens Ausdruck menschlichen Strebens nach Beherrschung der Dinge im unerbittlichen Fluss der Vergänglichkeit, aber auch Sinnbild des Wachsens und Wucherns, das immer wieder Neues zur Entfaltung bringt.

„Insgesamt gehört Deep Dish wohl zu den besten Tanzstücken, die dieses Jahr in Österreich zu sehen waren.“ (Der Standard)

„In der neuen Folge der Serie ‚The Perfect Garden’ lädt Chris Haring drei Tänzerinnen und einen Tänzer zum üppigen Gastmahl. Michel Blazy hat den Tisch gedeckt, nicht nur Obst und Gemüse sind arrangiert, auch Flöhe und Seeanemonen tummeln sich im Wasserglas. ‚Deep Dish’ ist eine barocke Installation – in opulenter Schönheit an die Vergänglichkeit des Daseins gemahnend.“ (tanz.at)


Tanz, Choreografie: Luke Baio, Stephanie Cumming, Katharina Meves, Anna Maria Nowak
Künstlerische Leitung & Choreografie: Chris Haring
Komposition & Sound Design: Andreas Berger
Dramaturgie, Szenografie & Licht Design: Thomas Jelinek 

Organische Skulpturen & Künstlerische Beratung: Michel Blazy
Stage Management: Roman Harrer
Internationale Repräsentation: Line Rousseau, Marion Gauvent, A. Propic
Produktionsleitung: Marlies Pucher

Eine Koproduktion von Tanzquartier Wien und Liquid Loft In Kooperation mit Korzo Den Haag und Le Centquartre Paris

Liquid Loft wird unterstützt von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien MA7 / Kultur und dem Bundeskanzleramt Österreich Kunst, Kultur.

Meta Navigation DE